Double Birthday #2

Today I’m blessed to celebrate my second “double birthday” — fifty-three years since I joined the community of the living, and two years since I suffered a stroke (or three, depending on who you believe) and died once during emergency surgery at Shands Hospital in Gainesville.

It continues to be a wonderful life, highlighted by another eventful year that nobody promised to me. It dawned with the finding I’d need forty-six radiation treatments in twenty-three days, a regime I’d wish on no one. Short walks with a cane down a side street led to the ditching of my cane in November. That work continued, as many of you know, until I was regularly logging over 100 miles of walking each month. Finally, the year ended with the best news we could’ve hoped for: no tumors are currently present in my head. (YES!!)

I continue to be surrounded by conscientious doctors, unspeakably incredible friends..

And of course a family whose love, strength, and patience defy description and belief. Thank you Gale, Zach, Kyle, Alex, Crystal, Chris, and Steve for sticking with me while we got me this far, and for joining me on the journey ahead.

The year until my next birthdays is sure to be nothing short of fascinating. I’m ecstatic to be able to share it with you! See you there..

About pondsponderings

Son, husband, father, grandfather, dog owner, musican, writer, philosopher, pursuer of health, SQL Server geek.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Double Birthday #2

  1. Karen Szabo says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! I am glad you wrote this blog and I could be drawn into your world. Thanks for the break from my ‘every day’! Very glad you are sharing with us so we can take a moment to reflect on life.

Leave a Reply

